

STATE OF NEW YORK DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION ALBANY, N.Y. 12232

WWW.DOT.NY.GOV

JOAN MCDONALD

ANDREW M. CUOMO GOVERNOR

May 19, 2014

John Buyce Office of the State Comptroller Division of State Government Accountability 110 State Street, 11th floor Albany, NY 12236-0001

Dear Mr. Buyce:

As required by Section 170 of the Executive Law, the New York State Department of Transportation (NYSDOT) is providing the following 90-day update on actions taken to implement the audit recommendations included in the Office of the State Comptroller's (OSC) audit report entitled *Selected Employee Travel Expenses – Department of Transportation (2012-S-93)*.

Recommendation 1: Ensure that each employee's official station is established in compliance with State travel rules and is in the best interest of the State.

90-Day Update: As noted in our response to the draft report, NYSDOT has completed several actions to implement this recommendation.

Recommendation 2: Work with the Comptroller's Division of Payroll, Accounting and Revenue Services to take any necessary corrective action related to the potential taxable status of the eight Tappan Zee Bridge project employees' commuting expenses.

90-Day Update: NYSDOT worked with OSC and previously provided all the information necessary to prepare amended W-2's for the Tappan Zee Bridge project employees. Amended W-2's for calendar year 2009 have been issued.

Should you need further information, please contact Annette Mendel, Acting Director, Accounting Bureau, at (518) 457-9767.

Sincerely,

Phillip Eng, P.E.

Phills Es

Executive Deputy Commissioner

cc: Honorable Andrew M. Cuomo, Governor of the State of New York

Honorable Thomas P. DiNapoli, State Comptroller

Honorable Jeffrey D. Klein, Temporary President and Majority Coalition Leader

Honorable Dean G. Skelos, Temporary President and Majority Coalition Leader

Honorable Sheldon Silver, Assembly Speaker

Honorable Joseph D. Morelle, Assembly Majority Leader

Honorable Brian Kolb, Assembly Minority Leader

Honorable John A. DeFrancisco, Chairman, Senate Finance Committee

Honorable Liz Krueger, Ranking Minority Member, Senate Finance Committee

Honorable Herman D. Farrell, Jr. Chairman, Assembly Ways and Means Committee

Honorable Robert C. Oaks, Ranking Minority Member, Assembly Ways and Means

Committee

Robert L. Megna, Division of the Budget