

ANDREW M. CUOMO

Governor

ANN MARIE T. SULLIVAN, M.D.

CHRISTOPHER TAVELLA, Ph.D.

Commissioner Executive Deputy Commissioner

March 1, 2021

Sharon Salembier, CPA, CFE Audit Manager Office of the State Comptroller Division of State Government Accountability 110 State Street – 11<sup>th</sup> Floor Albany, NY 12236-0001

Dear Ms. Salembier:

In accordance with Executive Law § 170, the following is the Office of Mental Health's (OMH) 180-day response on its efforts to implement the recommendation detailed in the Office of the State Comptroller's (OSC's) final audit report entitled, "Oversight of Provider Consolidated Fiscal Reports – Independent Living, Inc." (2019-S-60):

<u>OSC Recommendation 1:</u> Evaluate the potential for conducting field audits, on a risk basis, to more fully assess provider compliance with CFR Manual requirements for reporting, calculating, and documenting of costs on their CFRs.

<u>OMH 180-Day Response:</u> We agree with this recommendation and have evaluated the potential for the CFR Unit to conduct field audits. However, as was noted in our response to the draft audit report, the CFR Unit has limited capacity to do so and the Bureau of Audit already conducts risk-based field audits that ensure funds have been spent in accordance with Mental Hygiene Law and other relevant guidelines (including the CFR Manual). Since the issuance of the final report, the CFR Unit has consulted with the OMH audit team to develop a risk-based approach to conducting expanded desk reviews (on a sample basis) to identify non-compliance with CFR Manual requirements. It is expected that an improved process will be developed in the next six months and fully implemented within a year. The expanded desk review will request more detailed supporting documentation to ensure that reported expenditures are program eligible and appropriate.

Please let us know if you have any questions or require additional information concerning the above.

Sincerely,

Ann Marie T. Sullivan, M.D.

In n. 2 Suche 18x

Commissioner

cc. Honorable Andrew M. Cuomo, Governor of the State of New York

Honorable Thomas P. DiNapoli, State Comptroller

Honorable Andrea Stewart-Cousins, Senate Majority Leader and President Pro Tempore

Honorable Robert G. Ortt, Senate Minority Leader

Honorable Carl E. Heastie, Assembly Speaker

Honorable Crystal D. Peoples-Stokes, Assembly Majority Leader

Honorable William A. Barclay, Assembly Minority Leader

Honorable Liz Krueger, Chairperson, Senate Finance Committee

Honorable Thomas F. O'Mara, Ranking Minority Member, Senate Finance Committee

Honorable Helene E. Weinstein, Chairman, Assembly Ways and Means Committee

Honorable Edward P. Ra, Ranking Minority Member, Assembly Ways and Means Committee

Robert F. Mujica Jr., Division of the Budget