

STATE OF NEW YORK DEPARTMENT OF STATE ONE COMMERCE PLAZA 99 WASHINGTON AVENUE ALBANY, NY 12231-0001

ANDREW M. CUOMO GOVERNOR

July 8, 2013

CESAR A. PERALES SECRETARY OF STATE

Mr. John Buyce
Audit Director
Office of the State Comptroller
Division of State Government Accountability
110 State Street, 11th floor
Albany, NY 12236-0001

RE:

Disposal of Electronic Devices

Audit Report 2012-S-73

Dear Mr. Buyce:

This is in response to the Office of the State Comptroller's Report 2012-S-73 as required by Section 170 of the Executive Law. This audit was to determine whether the Department of State's disposal of electronic devices is in compliance with the Cyber Security Policy P03-002 issued by the NYS Office of Cyber Security.

First, I am pleased to learn of the 218 devices tested, 217 were found to be devoid of data and in compliance with policy. Of course, that one was found to contain data is of concern and I appreciate your office's assistance in identifying it. Our response to the recommendation made in your report is as follows:

Recommendation:

"Implement the Office of General Service's recently released policy and procedure for removing memory components from surplus electronic devices."

Implemented. Drives are no longer surplused with our computers and we are exploring options for the destruction of these drives. We have reviewed the one drive not wiped clean. This was assigned to the Office of Fire Prevention and Control. It may have been overlooked in the course of transitioning equipment from DOS to the Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Services (DHSES).

Thank you for the opportunity to respond to your audit.

Sincerely,

Cesar A. Perales Secretary of State

Esar & Juntes

CC: Governor Andrew M. Cuomo
State Comptroller Thomas P. DiNapoli
President of the Senate Lt. Governor Robert J. Duffy
Temporary President of the Senate Dean G. Skelos
Minority Leader of the Senate John L. Sampson
Speaker of the Assembly Sheldon Silver
Assembly Majority Leader Joseph D. Morelle
Assembly Minority Leader Brian M. Kolb
Chair, Senate Finance Committee John A. DeFrancisco
Chair, Assembly Ways and Means Committee Herman D. Farrell, Jr.
Ranking Minority Member, Senate Finance Committee Liz Krueger
Ranking Minority Member, Assembly Ways and Means Committee Robert C. Oaks