E-mail not displaying properly? Request information by mail: NYSVCU@osc.ny.gov.



The Office of Unclaimed Funds reminds you to check for monies held by your organization that may be considered abandoned property.

Review the <u>Handbook for Reporters of Unclaimed Funds</u> to see what types of funds are covered under New York State's Abandoned Property Law (APL) Article VI.

Follow the list of steps and tips below if you determine that a report is due. Additional details may be found in the <u>Court Funds</u> section of the Handbook.

What's New:

- Check our website and handbook for updates and a new design!
- Watch our eLearning modules to help with completing your report.
 - o Submit additional topics of interest to NYSVCU@osc.ny.gov.
- You can upload an **Excel-formatted** report using FTP.
- Chapter 316 of the Laws of 2021 amended the Social Services Law (SSL) § 111-h, removed the Abandoned Property Law (APL) §§ 600(1)(c), 602(3) and added §1318. These changes, effective July 30, 2021, instituted new requirements for the transfer of unclaimed child support, spousal support, combined child and spousal support, and unidentified payments to the State Comptroller. For additional reference, see New York State Legislature Assembly bill number A07942, Senate bill number S07153, or NYS Consolidated Laws.

Reporting Timeline:

January 10	Send a notice by first class mail to all owners with a valid address.
February 1	Publish an alphabetical list of owner names and addresses in a newspaper distributed in the county of the rightful owner's last known address.
February 10	Send us a copy of the published notice as proof of your publication.
February 10	Send notice by certified mail to owners with over \$1,000 in abandoned property who did not respond to the first notice.
April 10	Submit your final report, including account and owner details, remittance and Verification and Checklist (VCL) (AC2709).

Reporting Steps:

- 1. Enter account and owner details using an <u>approved electronic reporting format</u>, and send it to us electronically using our Secure File Upload or by mail on CD, DVD or USB drive. We cannot accept reports by email. Use our <u>Online Holder Reporting</u> web application for up to 25 accounts on our secure website. Do not send a paper VCL if submitting a report using our Secure File Upload or the Online Holder Reporting, the submission creates one for you!
- 2. Send your remittance by <u>electronic payment</u> or check payable to the Comptroller of the State of New York.

Tips for Effective Due Diligence and Reporting:

Gather Data	 Review our <u>website</u> and <u>Handbook</u> before starting to prepare your report. Submit an <u>Extension Request Form</u> by March 10th (30 days prior to the report due date) if you need more time to submit your report. You must remit 75% of either the expected value of the report or the amount reported the previous year.
Due Diligence	 Send notices early, as a consideration to the owner. Include your direct contact information on notices so the owner can contact you and mark your envelopes with "Response Required." Watch our <u>eLearning</u> modules to help with completing due diligence.
Prepare Report	 Preliminary and negative reports are NOT required. Pay close attention to accounts with multiple owners: Indicate the relationship each owner has to each account. Use the Account Title in the NYCD and Excel formats or relationship codes in NAUPA format. For example, "John Jones Custodian for Mary Jones" or "John Jones (CF), Mary Jones (UG)." Reporting multiple owner accounts with incomplete relationship data usually requires follow-up contacts with the reporting organization and increases the risk of incorrect claim payments. If you prepare reports using third-party software, make sure you are using the most current version. Watch our eLearning modules to help with preparing your report.

Report

- Record the Secure File Upload File Name on all pieces of your report so that we can match the details, remittance, and any correspondence.
- Reports submitted via Secure File Upload which include an EVCL do not require a paper VCL (AC2709) or a copy of the report on paper or disk. This activity may result in a duplicate report.
- Watch our <u>eLearning</u> modules to help with electronically submitting your report.

Please contact us if you need further assistance.

This e-mail was sent to << Email>>.

Sign up to receive other e-mails from the Comptroller's Office

Click <u>here</u> to unsubscribe or update contact information.

Office of the State Comptroller - 110 State Street - Albany, NY 12236 www.osc.state.ny.us | NYSRPU@osc.ny.gov | Privacy Policy