
Unclaimed Property Relating to Utility Companies – Reference Sheet 

 

Schedule of Events for Article IV and Section 1311 

July 1 
Cut-off Date – if funds have become dormant in the year prior to this date, they should 
be included in this report cycle 

July 10 First Class Mailing Completed 

August 10 Certified Mailing Completed 

August 31 Publication Notice Due 

September 10 Proof of Publication Due 

October 10 
Final Report, Verification and Checklist and remittance received in our office by the 
close of business 

 

 

How to Report (due 10/10) - Include the following when reporting: 

 
1. Account details of the funds you are transferring in an approved format  
2. Remittance of cash or securities 
3. Verification and Checklist (Form AC2709 or Electronic VCL) 

 
 

Make sure the total 
amount is the same 
on all three parts 

 

 

Visit our website at: https://www.osc.ny.gov/unclaimed-funds/reporters for more details including forms and contact 
information. 

 

Applicable Property Types 

Property Type Property Type Description Dormancy Period 

5A Utility service deposit 2 years 

5B Advance payments for utility services not furnished 2 years 

5C Refunds due on overcharges by utility companies 2 years 

8X Late filing interest  

 

Account 

Details  

Remittance 

of Cash or 

Securities 

Verification 

& Checklist 

https://www.osc.ny.gov/unclaimed-funds/reporters


Unclaimed Property Relating to Utility Companies 

 

The following information corresponds to Article IV and §1311 of New York Abandoned Property Law (APL). 

For more information, refer to Article IV and §1311 of the statute. 

This document includes the following sections: 

Unclaimed Property 

Statutory Considerations in Addition to Article IV and §1311 

Important Issues 

Due Diligence 

Publication 

Mailing Requirements 

Remittance 

Publication Sample 

Schedule of Events for Article IV and §1311 

 

  



Unclaimed Property 

 

Unclaimed property subject to Article IV of the Abandoned Property Law (APL) includes: 

• Deposits made to secure payment for utility services. 

• Amounts paid in anticipation of utility services being provided, which, in fact, are not provided. 

• Refunds of any excess charges. 

§1311 provides coverage for erroneously collected tax or assessment monies for which the consumer was 

not liable. Unlike Article IV, which has a two-year dormancy period, §1311 has a one-year dormancy period. 

 

Statutory Considerations in Addition to Article IV and Section 1311 – Unclaimed 

Property Relating to Utility Companies 

 

Corporate Property Types 

Article V and Section 1315 of the APL 

In addition to Article IV and §1311, utility companies 

are subject to the statutory requirements of Article V 

and §1315 of the New York APL, meaning that a 

separate Report is required to be filed on or before 

March 10. This report would include items such as 

wage checks and vendor checks. For more 

information, refer to Article V and §1315 of the statute 

and to the Office of Unclaimed Fund’s (OUF) General 

Corporations document. 

Due Diligence 

Utility companies are required to conduct due 

diligence in the form of mailings and publication. A 

positive customer response to any due diligence 

attempt negates the need for further due diligence 

actions on an account. 

§1422 of the APL requires that, at least 90 days prior 

to submitting its final report, the holder send a notice 

by first class mail to each owner whose name is 

expected to appear on the report unless the address 

for the owner is unknown or the holder can 

demonstrate that the address it maintains for the 

owner is not the owner’s current address. In addition, 

at least 60 days prior to submitting its final report, the 

holder must send a notice by certified mail (return 

receipt requested) to each owner whose name is 

expected to appear on that report with abandoned 

property valued in excess of $1,000 unless contact 

with the owner has been established; the first class 

mailing was returned as undeliverable or the mailing 

address is outside the United States. 

 

Electronic Contact 

Certain types of electronic contact can be used to 

satisfy the written communication requirements in the 

APL to prevent the property from being deemed 

abandoned. This includes email communication from 

the entitled owner of the property that matches the 

registered email address on record with the holder or 

a verifiable login by the owner using a website or 

mobile application made available by the holder. See 

NYCRR Title 2 Part 125 for more details 

Holders Not Authorized to Conduct 

Business in New York State 

§1312 of the New York APL extends statutory 

coverage to any utility company that: 

• Is chartered or organized in another state 

and not authorized to do business in New 

York. 

• Holds unclaimed property payable to a 

person whose last known address is within 

New York. 

Such reporting organizations are subject to the same 

statutory reporting requirements as organizations 

doing business in New York. However, the publication 

requirement does not apply. 

Unidentified and Unapplied Payments 

Unidentified and unapplied payments received by a 

utility company are reportable under §1315, which 

has a three-year dormancy period, as a credit balance 

under property type 5E of the Verification and 

Checklist. 

.



Important Issues – Unclaimed Property Relating to Utility Companies 

 

Excess Taxes 

The law requires you to report refunds of excess taxes. 

Interest 

Utility deposits accrue interest at a rate established by the Public Service Commission.  

  



Publication 

 

Publish a notice that abandoned property will be remitted to the State Comptroller. Do not include names, addresses, 

or amounts.  

Publish: 

• On or before September 1. 

• Once in two newspapers published in the county where such deposits, payments or payments to be 

refunded were made. If there are fewer than two newspapers published in any such county, publish in an 

adjacent county. 

• In an English language newspaper, and any other newspaper that will substantially serve to inform the 

public of such abandoned property. 

 

File proof by affidavit of publication with the State Comptroller on or before September 10. 

The notice shall state that: 

• A report of unclaimed property has been compiled and will be sent to the State Comptroller and that a copy 

thereof is on file and open to public inspection at the principal office or place of business in any city, village, 

or county where such abandoned property is payable. 

• Such held properties will be paid to proven entitled parties by (reporter’s name) through September 30. 

• On or before October 10, any remaining unclaimed properties will be forwarded to the State Comptroller. 

You may not deduct publication costs from the value of the accounts being reported.  



Mailing Requirements 

 

First Class and Certified Mailings 
 

§1422 of the APL requires that all organizations do the following: 

 

• At least 90 days prior to their final report/remittance date, send a notice by first class mail to each 

owner whose name is expected to appear on that report unless; 

o The owner address is unknown,  

o The holder can demonstrate that the address it maintains for the owner is not the owner’s 
current address, or 

▪ Note – if you use an address validation service and find a new address for the owner, 
you may send the notice to the new address but you should not change the original 
address on your report. 

o The items to be reported are valued at $20 or less and are being reported in the aggregate, in 
which case the owner’s name will not appear on the report, therefore mailing a notice is not 
required. 

 

And 

 

• At least 60 days prior to their final report/remittance date, send a notice by certified mail, return 

receipt requested, to each owner whose name is expected to appear on that report with abandoned 

property valued in excess of $1,000 unless; 

o Owner contact has been established, 

o The first class mailing was returned as undeliverable, or 

o The last known address is outside of the United States. 

 

 

Costs 

 

You may deduct the mailing costs for certified 

mail. Deduct such charges from each item for 

which you are mailing the notice. You may not 

make a bulk deduction against the final 

remittance. The costs for completing the 

publication and first class mailing requirements 

cannot be offset.  

 

Foreign address 
 

Exercise due caution in an attempt to contact entitled 

owners who reside in politically sensitive countries as 

defined by the U.S. Department of Treasury’s Office 

of Foreign Assets Control. Certified mailing 

requirements do not apply to residents of foreign 

countries. Address any questions pertaining to this 

subject to our Director of Audits. 

Multiple Items 

 

Where feasible, if you are reporting more than 

one item for the same owner, one letter should 

address all of the items you are reporting. 

 

Multiple Owners 

 

For cases in which multiple owners of an item 

have different addresses, you must send a notice 

to each owner. You may deduct the additional 

costs of mailing a certified notice to more than 

one address. 

 

Wages – Article V 

Article V stipulates that owners of unclaimed 
wages be notified at the last known address of 
record via first class mail. Notifications must be 
sent in the calendar year prior to the year in 
which you are required to deliver the property to 
the State Comptroller. You may not deduct the 
cost of sending notifications from the value of the 
abandoned property. 

  



Remittance 
 

 

Submit your remittance at the time you file a report. The remittance should be equal to the sum of the values of the 

accounts being reported to the Office of the State Comptroller. Pay your remittance by electronic transfer or check. 

 

Electronic Funds Transfer 
 

Electronic funds transfer is available to make payment of the amount due for your report of abandoned property. 

Instructions, including the account and routing number information, are linked in the Forms area of the website. 

 

Checks 
 

Make checks payable to Comptroller, State of New York. You should mail it to the following address: 

 

New York State Office of the State Comptroller 

Office of Unclaimed Funds 

Remittance Control, 2nd Floor 

110 State Street 

Albany, NY 12236 

 

Include the letters ‘OUF’ and the Date/Time stamp in the memo and advice areas of your check if you sent your 

report account details using one of our electronic reporting methods. This will help us apply your funds correctly. 

 

In accordance with OUF’s internal control procedures, you should send all payments to the above address. At no time 

should you send any remittances to our New York City office. 

 

https://www.osc.ny.gov/unclaimed-funds/reporters/electronic-fund-transfer-instructions


Publication Sample – Unclaimed Property Relating to Utility Companies 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Schedule of Events for Article IV and Section 1311 – Unclaimed Property 

Relating to Utility Companies

 

July 1 

For reporting purposes, a utility company’s year runs from July 2 through the following July 1. July 1 is the cut-off 

or ending date for the reporting period. Use it when identifying abandoned accounts/items. 

July 2 through August 1 

During this period, review your records and collect data related to any account/item that may be dormant and 

subject to reporting. 

If you have an account/item subject to reporting: 

• Compile the data in one of our reporting formats, so that you may submit it as your final report.  

If you do not find any items subject to reporting:  

• Keep a record of your review. 

• Do not send preliminary or negative (zero balance) reports. 

July 10 

By this date: 

 

NOTICE OF UNCLAIMED PROPERTY HELD BY (name of utility, city of utility) 

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN pursuant to Section 402 of the Abandoned Property Law of 

the State of New York that 

a) a report of unclaimed amounts of money or other property held or owing by the above named 

corporation has been made to the Comptroller of the State of New York, and that a list of 

names of the persons appearing from the records of such corporation to be entitled thereto is 

on file and open to public inspection at its principal office or place of business in (name of 

city, village, or county) where any such property is payable; 

b) such deposits, payments, and refunds, together with interest due thereon and less lawful 

deductions, will be paid by it on or before the succeeding thirtieth day of September to 

persons establishing to its satisfaction their right to receive the same; and 

c) in the succeeding month of October, and on or before the tenth day thereof, such unclaimed 

deposits, payments, and refunds, together with interest due thereon and less lawful 

deductions, still remaining will be paid to the Comptroller of the State of New York and that it 

shall thereupon cease to be liable therefore. 

(Name of Utility) 

(Address of Utility) 

 

 

 



• Send a notice by first class mail to each person or entity whose name appears on your report of 

abandoned property and request a signed written statement from the owner that acknowledges the 

property’s existence. This requirement does not apply to those accounts that meet the exclusionary 

provisions of §1422. 

• Advise and educate internal staff about the due diligence notices for effective processing when the 
rightful owner contacts your organization. 

• Reactivate all accounts of owners who respond to the notice or otherwise establish contact. Do not 

include these accounts on your report. 

August 10 

By this date: 

• If an owner has not responded to the first class mailing, or if the first class mailing was not returned as 

undeliverable, and the value of all unclaimed property held for the owner exceeds $1,000, you are 

required to send a second notification via certified mail, return receipt requested, if the address for the 

owner is within the United States. 

o You may charge the cost of the certified mailing against the property’s value. 

• Reactivate all accounts of owners who respond to the mailing. Do not include these accounts on your 

report. 

o Note: we consider a return receipt to be customer contact if the receipt bears the signature of the 

account owner. Verify return receipt signatures against the other signature records you may have 

for an owner. 

August 31 

By this date: 

• Publish a notice that abandoned property will be remitted to the State Comptroller. You may not deduct 

publication costs from the value of the accounts being reported. 

Article IV does not require publishing individual names, but instead requires publishing a general statement 

providing notice of the existence of abandoned property in a specific county. 

September 10 

By this date: 

• File proof of publication. Include an invoice, a copy of the advertisement and an affidavit. 

July 2 through September 30 

During this period: 

• Complete report removals based on any contact with owners. 

On or before October 10 

• Finalize the report. 

• Arrange for payment. 

• Submit the report, payment, and a new Verification and Checklist to be received in our office by the 

close of business on October 10. 

 

 

 


